African countries that gained independence under Queen Elizabeth II


In the heart of Africa, the founding fathers began to see the possibility of self-government after decades of colonialism. In the West, civil rights leaders staged matches against segregation, while in Africa intellectuals sold the idea of ​​liberation to its people.

Before long, Africa began to gain independence. Europe began to loosen its administrative grip on the colonies, and before the turn of the 21st century, most African nations had achieved independence.

This would mean that Queen Elizabeth, the second born in 1928 and died in 2022, oversaw the liberation of all British colonies in Africa. Ghana was the first African country to gain independence from the British colony in 1957, when the Queen was 31 years old. She became the Queen of England in 1952, so she was the chief monarch 5 years before the first African liberation.

Below are some of the countries that gained independence during the reign of Queen Elizabeth II;

  1. Sierra Leone: It was the first British colony, settled in 1808 by freed slaves from England. The country gained independence in 1961.
  2. Ghana: Ghana was colonized as early as 1902 after the discovery of huge gold reserves in the country. It gained independence in 1957. Before colonization. The Ashanti people ruled over their lands.
  3. Nigeria: Despite the not too distant British presence, this land was officially settled in 1914, 12 years after the colonization of Ghana. This region also saw one of the most extreme mergers, as over 200 independent tribes were forced to coexist within a designated border. Nigeria gained independence in 1960.
  4. Sudan: The name Sudan in Arabic means the land of the blacks. Settled in 1899. Sections of this region were under Belgian rule before becoming a full British colony, after the death of Leopold. The country gained independence in 1956.
  5. Uganda: Before becoming a British protectorate in 1894, this region of the world experienced intense religious conflict as four religious groups battled for supremacy. They were Native, Catholic, Muslim and Protestant religion. The country gained independence in 1962.
  6. Kenya: Prior to its colonization in 1920, the Sultan of Zanzibar had sovereignty over the area currently known as Kenya. The signing of the Heligoland Zanzibar Treaty gave England and Germany ownership of Kenya. Kenya gained independence in 1963
  7. Tanzania: Formerly known as Tanganyika, Tanzania was originally a German colony. After World War I, Britain took control of the region, under the terms of the Treaty of Versailles. It was colonized by the British in 1919 and gained independence in 1961.
  8. Zambia: This country was settled in 1888, after the British obtained mining rights in the region, but it officially became a British protectorate 10 years later. Zambia gained independence in 1964.
  9. Botswana: The British colonized Botswana in 1885 in order to block the alliance between the Boers (Dutch settlers in South Africa) in the Transvaal and the Germans in present-day Namibia. In 1885, the British placed Bechuanaland, present-day Botswana, under its protection. Botswana gained independence in 1966.
  10. Zimbabwe: Formerly known as Southern Rhodesia, this country became a self-governing British colony in 1923. Colonized in 1890, Zimbabwe gained independence in 1980, making it the last country to break free from British rule. .
  11. South Africa: This nation has seen its fair share of foreign invaders. The Portuguese were the first European settlers to reach the south coast in 1497. Centuries later, in 1965, Dutch settlers arrived, before the nation was finally settled by Britain in 1815. Africa South finally gained independence in 1961.

About Author

Comments are closed.